Navigation Menu
  • Country: Switzerland

Switzerland comprises four main linguistic and cultural regions: German, French, Italian and Romansh. Due to its linguistic diversity, Switzerland is known by a variety of native names: Schweiz  (German); Suisse (French); Svizzera (Italian); and Svizra (Romansh). On coins and stamps, Helvetia (Latin) is used instead of the four living languages.

German Languages:

Bern: Der Chly Prinz, in Bernese German, an Alemannic Swiss German dialect.


Basel: Dr Gläi Brinz, in a local Basel dialect of Alemannic Swiss German.


Valais: Der Chlii Prinz, in Walser German language, spoken in a part of Switzerland (Valais, Ticino, Grisons), Italy (Piedmont, Aosta Valley), Liechtenstein, and Austria (Vorarlberg).


French Languages:

Fribourg: Le Piti Prinhyo, in Franco-Provençal (Arpitan) Canton of Fribourg dialect.


Lausanne: Lo Pitit Prinço, in Franco-Provençal (Arpitan) Canton of Vaud dialect.


Romansh Language:

Davos: Il Pitschen Prinzi, in Romansh, a dialect of Rhaeto-Romance language spoken in southeastern Swiss canton of Grisons.

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.